Marine Science & Technology Business Person of the Year*

The UK marine science sector is a vibrant industry epitomised by enthusiastic and successful entrepreneurs and innovative engineers whose expertise has created leading edge technology supported by world renowned research institutions.

The Society of Maritime Industries (SMI), through its MSTG Council, invites nominations for this prestigious annual award each year to recognise an individual who has made a significant contribution to the business of the marine science and technology sector in the UK.

This now, biennial award is presented at one of the major UK trade shows for the marine science and technology sector, Ocean Business.

Previous winners have been:

2019 Claire Cardy (Nortek)

2017 Dr Michael Osborne (OceanWise)

2016 Paul Ridout (Ocean Scientific International)

2015 Dan Hook (ASV)

2014 Roger Scrivens (RS Aqua)

2013 Keith Birch (National Oceanography Centre)

2012 Brendan Hyland (WFS Technologies)

2011 Dr Ralph Rayner (BMT Group)

2010 Mr Matthew Quartley (Valeport)

2009 Mr John Partridge (Sonardyne International)

2008 Ms Versha Carter (Intelligent Exhibitions)


*Formerly the AMSI Council Business Person of the Year Award