Demystifying US Export Control Regulations for Dual Use Technologies Webinar

cameron-venti-1cqIcrWFQBI-unsplash

KTN Global Alliance in Strategic Partnership with UK Science and Innovation Network in US will host a webinar on 8 June 2021 at 4 – 5:30 pm (BST) for the UK research and business community working in dual-use technologies, products and services to understand better US export control laws to help enable collaboration with the US.

While both US and UK export control regimes are broadly similar, the US system has traditionally been more restrictive and can add compliance costs to technology partnerships. Due to recent changes in US law, there is a new set of controls for emerging and foundational technologies. These technologies would be considered dual-use, and thus fall under a less restrictive regime than pure defence technology. Nevertheless, the draft list of technologies is quite broad and could include artificial intelligence and machine learning, robotics, quantum, big data, gene editing, and more. Therefore, many UK companies and research teams may now face US export controls where they did not before.

This webinar will present the findings of a report commissioned by the Foreign Commonwealth and Development Office (FCDO) and produced by Holland & Knight. The report addresses the changing US export control landscape and implications for UK entities. As a result of this webinar and report, we hope to provide practical advice that will increase the ability of UK companies to navigate US export control issues on dual-use technology.

Technology Envoy to the US and British Consul-General for San Francisco, Joe White MBE, will provide opening remarks.

Draft Agenda - Eastern Time
11:00 EDT / 16:00 BST | Welcome & Introduction by Sandeep Sandhu, KTN & Karla Hagan British Embassy, Washington
11:10 EDT / 16:10 BST | Foreword & Overview by Joe White MBE
11:20 EDT / 16:20 BST | Findings from USA Export Control Regulations Report by Holland and Knight
11:50 EDT / 16:50 BST | Q&A
12:25 EDT / 17:25 BST | Closing Remarks – Nick Hooper British Consulate-General, Los Angeles

Speakers
Joe White MBE | HM Consul-General, San Francisco, and Technology Envoy to the USA Foreign, Commonwealth & Development Office (FCDO)
Ronald Oleynik | Partner, Holland and Knight
Antonia Tzinova | Partner, Holland and Knight

Register Here

Upcoming Dates for this event

  • Tue 08 Jun 2021 (Deadline for booking is Tue 08 Jun 2021)

Events

back

June 2021

forward
mon tue wed thu fri sat sun
31 1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8

BlueTech Expo 2021

08/06/2021 09:00 - 10/06/2021 15:00 View

Virtual Ocean Technology Exhibition June 8-10, 2021

Demystifying US Export Control Regulations for Dual Use Technologies Webinar

08/06/2021 16:00 - 17:30 View

9

BlueTech Expo 2021

08/06/2021 09:00 - 10/06/2021 15:00 View

Virtual Ocean Technology Exhibition June 8-10, 2021

10

BlueTech Expo 2021

08/06/2021 09:00 - 10/06/2021 15:00 View

Virtual Ocean Technology Exhibition June 8-10, 2021

11 12 13
14 15

Get Set for Workboat 2050 - Session 5

15/06/2021 10:00 - 11:00 View

16

Greek British Shipping Forum 2021

16/06/2021 12:00 - 14:45 View

The first digital Greek British Shipping Forum will explore how Maritime London members are supporting the shipping industry, as it moves to comprehend, monitor and utilise technology to ensure compliance with the IMO GHG Emissions regulations and international sanctions regimes.

17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24

Multi-Domain Integration Industry Day

24/06/2021 10:00 - 17:00 View

The Industry Day will provide industry with information about the aims of MDI, the motivations for change, MDI’s concept and how the Change Programme has been put together.

25

Mersey Maritime Exchange - Maritime 2050: The journey so far

25/06/2021 10:00 - 12:30 View

The Mersey Maritime Exchange was originally conceived in 2019, in response to the Government’s Maritime 2050 report which set out the future of the sector over the next three decades. At the heart of the report was a commitment to technological transformation, decarbonisation and a more inclusive, highly-trained workforce.

26 27
28 29

An Introduction to Europort - Webinar

29/06/2021 10:00 - 11:00 View

30 1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11